Welcome to the 27 countries of the European Union.  Travel within the member countries can be done quite freely and without much border control.  Traveling to the EU from outside, you will need a passport, but will most likely not need a visa to visit for less than 3 months.  (There are 42 countries whose nationals do not need a visa to visit the EU for three months or less. These include Australia, Canada, Croatia, Japan, New Zealand and the United States.)

The euro is the legal tender of around 331 million people in 17 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.  The euro notes are identical in all countries but each country issues its own coins with one common side and one side displaying a distinctive national design. All the notes and coins can be used in all EU countries that have adopted the euro.

While you will most fly into a major european city, the EU has over 212 000 km of railways with extensive international passenger services. There are over 6 000 km of high-speed lines in several countries with trains reaching speeds of up to 350 km/h and the network is being extended with new links in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom.  Visitors should make use of this vast railway network!

To contact the emergency services in any EU country from any phone, fixed or mobile, dial 112, free of charge.